Switchbacks Forums

GPS Mapsets => Northwest Trails => Topic started by: Huckleberry on June 03, 2009, 11:58:44 pm



Title: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: Huckleberry on June 03, 2009, 11:58:44 pm
I would like to overlay the trails onto the 24K Topo West maps that I have in Garmin's Basecamp software.
I'm guessing I can do this in the Garmin itself by loading the files separately but can it be done for planning routes on my pc?
(I was able to use GPSFileDepot instructions to load it in Mapsource)

Thanks!
Huckleberry


Title: Re: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: Moun10Bike on June 04, 2009, 08:02:26 am
Unfortunately, Basecamp can only display mapsets that have integrated DEM maps (the elevation data that gives the hillshading effect to some select mapsets like Topo US and the 24k map series).  This feature is currently not available in any custom mapsets.


Title: Re: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: Huckleberry on June 04, 2009, 05:15:43 pm
Is there a way I can take a number of the trails displayed in the layer and export them as tracks or some other thing that I can transpose them onto the shaded map?  Don't we have elevation data built into the trails that could be used to make route/track/way points in that manner?

Thanks again   :'(


Title: Re: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: Moun10Bike on June 04, 2009, 06:32:59 pm
That is unfortunately not a feature available with Northwest Trails at this time.  Have you taken a look at Redtrails.com (http://www.redtrails.com)?  It may provide a solution along the lines of what you are looking for.


Title: Re: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: Huckleberry on June 04, 2009, 08:31:06 pm
That's too bad..I'll probably send you my routes anyway.  Let me know if you discover something that will help me out though.
If as an admin you don't have my email address let me know in this thread and we'll figure out how to communicate.
I'm on LinkedIn as a System Analyst for Liberty Mutual with a picture of me standing on Rainier.

Huckleberry


Title: Re: How to load in Basecamp?
Post by: MtnMutt on July 03, 2009, 03:52:29 pm
 :-\ Hmmm, I notice the trails I've done lately and sent to Roadtrip show up on BaseCamp. But if I've not done them it will not allow. Interesting?