Switchbacks Forums
December 11, 2018, 06:06:27 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Northwest Topos v0.27 now available (December 16, 2014)

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Licensing of these maps  (Read 8029 times)
Fox
Wayfarer

View Profile
« on: February 07, 2010, 01:21:02 am »

Jon,

I was wondering about the licensing terms of the maps.  Since many people contribute, I was wondering if the individual contributors maintain copyright after submission?  Or do we wave it?

Also, do you assert a copyright on them after you assemble them?

Fox

Moun10Bike
Switchbacks.com Guy
Administrator
Expeditionist

stanley_jon@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 08:12:59 pm »

I'm no lawyer so my phrasing or terminology might be off, but I have no intentions of claiming ownership on submissions that people are gracious enough to upload.  To prevent outright theft, I do claim copyright on the assemblage of the data, though.

Is there anything in particular that made you ask this question?

Jon
Fox
Wayfarer

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 11:57:11 am »

I'm no lawyer so my phrasing or terminology might be off, but I have no intentions of claiming ownership on submissions that people are gracious enough to upload.  To prevent outright theft, I do claim copyright on the assemblage of the data, though.

Is there anything in particular that made you ask this question?