Switchbacks Forums
April 24, 2014, 09:44:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Northwest Trails v1.79 now available (December 12, 2013)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone having issues uploading map tiles to their GPS?  (Read 2000 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Moun10Bike
Switchbacks.com Guy
Administrator
Expeditionist
*****

Karma: +15/-0
Posts: 270


stanley_jon@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« on: March 25, 2010, 07:25:39 pm »

I have a report from a user stating that there is an issue with Northwest Trails in which it is failing to upload to his Oregon 400t.  The error is the "not enough room" error you get if the index is out of date and contains the wrong sizes for the map tiles.  This prevents Mapsource from successfully sending the maps to the GPS.

He says that lots of people are having this problem (apparently starting with v1.55; I haven't heard yet if the issue cleared up for him in today's v1.56), but this is the first I've heard of it.  Anyone else seeing this problem, either now or in v1.55?

Thanks!
Logged

Jon
savant9
Trekker
***

Karma: +1/-0
Posts: 41



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 11:49:23 pm »

If he is using a MAC, must make sure to empty the trash bin on the device, as this doesn't empty automatically when the space is required.
Logged
Lightning Jeff
Wayfarer
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 12



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2010, 10:57:50 am »

Yeah, good call on the potential Mac issue. Every Mac/Garmin user should take a look at this helpful tip for eliminating Mac OS X's annoying trash "feature" for removable media (which includes modern Garmin GPSr's AND any removable media you put in them):

http://garminoregon.wikispaces.com/Computer+Transfer - FAQ Item D10 - You only have to do this once per device.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 10:59:37 am by Lightning Jeff » Logged
Phil Andrews
Trekker
***

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 28



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2010, 04:27:24 pm »

My Astro 220 had no trouble with 1.55. I use win 7 and the latest mapsource. I haven't uploaded 1.56 but it's in mapsource now.
Logged
The Jester
Adventurer
****

Karma: +3/-0
Posts: 96



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2010, 09:03:09 pm »

No problems with my 60csx - at least with the mapset, user error on the other hand...  Grin
Logged

Beware of Geeks bearing Gadgets!
jholly
Wayfarer
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 21


I think it is over here


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2010, 09:56:44 pm »

I can't comment on 1.56, but I loaded Washington, Oregon and Idaho along with a bunch of garmin 24k topo maps without a hitch. The load was something like 1.25Gb on a 4 gig card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!